Appel pour la mission 2016


Rome, 25 Octobre 2016

A tous les membres de la Congrégation de la Mission 
Mes chers confrères,
Que la grâce et la paix de Jésus soit toujours avec nous !
 

A chacun de vous, j’envoie mes cordiales salutations en ce mois d’octobre spécialement consacré à la prière du Rosaire, à la réflexion et à l’action efficace pour les missions ad Gentes.

  1. Etre missionnaire c’est notre vocation depuis notre baptême, quand nous sommes officiellement devenus membres de l’Eglise Universelle et que nous avons reçu une mission spéciale.
  2. Etre missionnaire c’est notre identité comme membres de la Congrégation de la Mission. Nous portons le nom de missionnaire que le peuple nous a donné, depuis la fondation de la Congrégation et que S. Vincent a expliqué au début des Règles Communes.
  3. La toute récente 42e. Assemblée Générale a mis en évidence et a souligné notre commun désir de continuer à renforcer et à développer nos Missions Internationales et les autres missions.
  4. Etre prêt à partir vers d’autres pays de mission dans le monde est la base de notre charisme.
  5. Ceci dit, avant de répondre à de si nombreux appels et besoins qui nous parviennent de partout dans le monde, nous avons d’abord besoin de renforcer les Missions Internationales que nous avons déjà ouvertes ainsi que les autres missions.
  6. La bonne préparation des confrères qui iront dans les Missions Internationales et dans les autres missions, est l’une des recommandations et des demandes de la dernière Assemblée Générale.
    Pour cela, nous avons, dans notre Tempo Forte d’Octobre, parlé d’un programme qui préparerait les Confrères à leur futur travail dans les Missions Internationales ou les autres missions.
  7. Répondre positivement aux multiples demandes et besoins de par le monde, devient alors un sujet important qui demande la collaboration et l’aide mutuelle.

Si deux, dix ou 30 confrères vont dans les nouvelles missions, c’est toute la Congrégation qui va avec eux. Tous les confrères viennent d’une Province, d’une Vice-province ou d’une Région réelles. Quand un confrère quitte une place de sa province, de sa vice-province ou de sa Région pour se rendre dans une autre, il faut lui trouver un remplaçant. La possibilité que nous avons de faire appel au Visiteur, au Vice-visiteur et au Supérieur Régional d’accepter un nouveau travail à la place du ou des confrères qui sont partis vers un nouveau terrain – bien que cela demande une surcharge de travail – cette possibilité deviendrait signe d’aide mutuelle, de collaboration et un témoignage du fait que nous accomplissions tous une commune mission dans notre commune vocation. Ainsi nous pouvons signifier que nous partons tous vers une nouvelle mission. Nous répondons tous positivement à l’appel de la mission, ceux qui partent en mission comme ceux qui restent sur place et tous donnent à tous l’occasion de répondre aux appels que nous avons reçus et à ceux qui continuent à nous arriver.

Voici les besoins des Missions Internationales et Provinciales :

AFRIQUE 

Missions Internationales :

Angola (2012)
Langues : Langue locale et le portugais.
Les confrères travaillent dans les paroisses, accompagnent les communautés locales et la Famille Vincentienne. Les Confrères qui y travaillent sont : Marco Gumeiro et Jason Cristian Soto Herrera. Ils sentent le besoin de plus de missionnaires afin d’étendre leur ministère.

Bénin (2013)
Langues : Langue Locale et le français.
Les confrères travaillent dans les paroisses, aident les Sœurs de la Médaille Miraculeuse et la Famille Vincentienne. Les Missionnaires qui y travaillent sont : Stanislaw Deszcz et Jakub Hiler. Ils sentent le besoin de missionnaires. Cette mission est surtout aidée par la Province de Pologne.

Tchad (2012)
Langues : Langue Locale et le français.
Elle est aidée par le COVIAM (La Conférence des Visiteurs d’Afrique et de Madagascar). Les confrères travaillent dans les paroisses, au petit séminaire Jean-Paul II et enseignent dans des écoles. Les confrères qui travaillent à Bébalem sont : Roch Alexander Ramilijaona et Sylvain Rémy Disuka. Un troisième confrère y est attendu cette année, Léon Moninga Andogele et Ambrose Esigbemi Umetietie au petit séminaire. Ils ont besoin d’aide.

Tunisie (2011)
Langues : Arabe, français, anglais.
Les confrères sont dans le travail paroissial, dans les œuvres de charité avec Caritas, et aident le Bureau Diocésain de l’Education. Deux Missionnaires y travaillent : Narcisse DjerambeteYotobumbeti et Eric-Prosper Mputu Ebengo, à La Goulette ; Claudio Santangelo et Fadi Bassil à Sousse. A Sousse, la plupart des paroissiens sont des gens à la retraite, des expatriés, beaucoup de touristes et des familles mixtes (Islamo-chrétiennes).

N.B. L’idée d’étendre notre présence au Maghreb a été discutée durant l’Assemblée Générale de 2016. En fait, notre présence et notre mission y sont importantes pour établir des ponts avec les communautés musulmanes pour le bien des pauvres. L’Eglise en Tunisie est périphérique. Elle ne se suffit pas et elle n’a pas de séminaire pour former des prêtres. Les prêtres viennent de l’étranger. Les fidèles en Tunisie comptent près de 30.000 étrangers, étudiants universitaires et des expatriés. La majorité de la population est musulmane. C’est pour cela que le milieu est soupçonneux, indifférent et hostile. C’est ce que nous essayons de changer par notre témoignage.

Mission Provinciale :

Vice-Province de Mozambique :
Langues : Langue locale, Portugais et anglais.
Les membres de la Vice-Province servent les gens dans le besoin, travaillent dans la formation dans les séminaires, et dans une mission en Afrique du Sud. Pour poursuivre leur mission les confrères de la Vice- Province ont besoin de l’apport des autres provinces. Ils accueilleraient volontiers de nouveaux membres.

AMERIQUE

Missions Internationales :

Alaska, USA (2014)
Langues : Anglais et espagnol.
Les confrères servent les latino- américains de l’Archidiocèse d’Anchorage dont le nombre augmente. Ces confrères sont : Andrew Bellisario, Pedro Nel Delgado Quintero et Jesus Gabriel Medina Claros. Nous sommes en train de nommer un nouveau confrère pour cet Archidiocèse et pour le diocèse voisin. Nous avons besoin de plus de missionnaires.

Beni, Bolivie (2016)
Langues : langue locale et espagnol.
Deux confrères se préparent à ouvrir cette mission. On aura besoin de renfort pour agrandir la communauté.

Cochabamba, Bolivie(2009)
Langues : Langue locale et espagnol.
Les confrères David Paniagua et Jorge Manrique Castro travaillent dans les paroisses.

El Alto, Bolivie(1994)
Langues : langue locale et espagnol.
Les confrères servent les indigènes dans un travail de pastorale rurale et la formation des laïcs. Ces confrères sont : Aidan Rooney, Cyrille de la Barre de Nanteuil et Diego Jose Pla Aranda. Ils demandent des missionnaires

Punta Arena, Chili (2013)
Langue : espagnol.
Les confrères Angel Ignacio Garrido Santiago, Pablo Alexis Vargas Ruiz et Margarito Maetinez Gonzalez travaillent dans la pastorale. Ils demandent des missionnaires.

Tefé, Brésil
Langues : Langue locale et portugais.
Située au cœur de l’Amazonie Brésilienne, la Prélature de Téfé a été confiée aux Spiritains. Mgr Fernando Barbosa dos Santos, CM, quatrième évêque de la prélature, est le premier non Spiritain. La Prélature a une superficie de quelques 264.000 kilomètres carrés, elle compte 238.000 habitants, dix villes, 405 communautés riveraines, 40 communautés urbaines, 88 Communautés indigènes réparties dans 15 villages avec une population totale de 8500 habitants. C’est un pauvre pays de mission qui a besoin de plus de prêtres et d’évangélisateurs. La barque est le principal moyen de communication (de longues heures de voyage dans des conditions difficiles et précaires).

Quelques confrères ont déjà exprimé le désir d‘aller dans cette mission. Mais nous avons besoin de davantage de volontaires pour penser à l’ouvrir.

Mission Provinciale : 

Province de Cuba: Langue : Espagnol.
Cette Province manque de personnel bien qu’elle cherche à se reconfigurer avec une autre. Tous les confrères y sont les bienvenus pour un engagement à court ou à long terme.

ASIE – OCEANIE 

Missions Internationales

Les Iles Salomons (1993)
Langues : Anglais et Pidgin.
Les Confrères y sont engagés dans la formation (grand séminaire) et dans les paroisses rurales. Ce sont : Paulus Suparmono, Antony Punnoth, Ricardo Pradan et Brian O’SullivanJustin Eke et Tewolde Teclemicael poursuivent leur formation permanente. On sent le besoin d’enseignants de la philosophie et la théologie. Les confrères qui ont au moins une licence en philosophie ou en théologie seront d’un grand secours. L’enseignement se fait en anglais.

Papouasie-Nouvelle Guinée (2003)
Langues : anglais et Pidgin.
Le ministère est exercé dans différents diocèses. En plus de la formation au séminaire de Port Moresby, les confrères sont engagés dans les paroisses rurales et dans le centre de formation de culture missionnaire. Les confrères actuellement présents sont : Homero Marin, Marceliano Oabel, Emmanuel Lapaz, Jacek Tendej, Joel Bernardo Yco et Marcin Wrobel.

Mission Provinciale

Province de Chine.
Elle continue à servir pastoralement la population de Taiwan et de la Chine. La langue est le mandarin et les confrères sont engagés dans divers ministères.

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

J’ai hâte d’entendre des volontaires pour l’une de ces missions. Pendant ce temps, portons dans nos prières ceux qui prêchent l’Evangile à l’étranger. Puissions-nous être tous remplis de l’Esprit de Jésus à la suite de notre Fondateur.

Votre frère en Saint Vincent,

Tomaž Mavrič, C.M.
Supérieur Général

Mission Appeal 2016


Rome, October 25, 201

To All the Members of the Congregation of the Mission 
Dear Confreres,
May the grace of the Lord be with us always. 

In this month of October, dedicated in a special way to the prayer of the Rosary and reflection and concrete actions in relation to the missions Ad Gentes, I extend to each one of you my heartfelt greetings.

  1. Being missionaries is our call from the time of our Baptism, when we officially became members of the Universal Church and a mission was entrusted to each one of us.
  2. Being a missionary is our identity as members of the Congregation of the Mission. We carry the name of missionaries, as the people started to call us, from the beginning of the Congregation’s foundation, which Vincent explains at the beginning of our Common Rules.
  3. The recent 42nd General Assembly clearly emphasized and underlined our common desire to keep strengthening and developing our International Missions, as well as other places of mission.
  4. Being open to going to new places of mission around the world is part of our basic charism.
  5. This said, however, before responding to so many invitations and needs coming from around the world, we need to strengthen and reinforce some of the already opened international missions, as well as other missions.
  6. Among other recommendations and petitions from the recent General Assembly was that of having good preparation for the confreres who will join the international missions and other missions.
    In this regard, at our October Tempo Forte Meeting, we talked about preparing a  program for the confreres to accompany them as they get ready for their service in the international missions or other places of mission. We will start preparing this program in the coming days.
  7. Responding positively to the many requests and needs around the world becomes a ground where collaboration and mutual support play a decisive role.

If two, ten, or 30 confreres go to new missions, we all, the whole Congregation, goes on a new mission with them. The confreres always come from a concrete province, vice-province, or region of the Congregation. When the confreres leave a present place of service and go to the next one, most of the time replacements for the confreres in a concrete province, vice-province, or region need to be found. Our availability to the invitation or plea of the Visitor, Vice-Visitor, or Regional Superior to accept a new service in place of the confrere or confreres who went to the new mission – although this may bring added responsibilities – becomes the concrete sign of mutual support, collaboration, and witness that all we do is our common mission, part of our common call. In this way, we can say clearly that all go to the new mission. We all respond positively to the mission appeal, those who go to the mission, as well as those who stay back and give others the opportunity to respond to the appeals we received and keep receiving.

The following are the needs in the International Missions and the Provincial Missions at the present time:

AFRICA 

International Missions:

Angola – (2012).
Languages: Local language and Portuguese.
The confreres are involved in parish ministry and in accompanying local communities and the Vincentian Family. The Missionaries presently ministering there are: Marcos Gumieiro and Jason Cristian Soto Herrera. They request the presence of more Missionaries in order to expand their missionary service.

Benin – (2013).
Languages: Local language and French.
The confreres are involved in parish ministry, assisting the Sisters of the Miraculous Medal, and supporting the Vincentian Family. The Missionaries presently ministering there are: Stanislaw Deszcz and Jakub Hiler. There is a need for more Missionaries. This mission is supported primarily by the Province of Poland.

Chad(2012).
Languages: Local language and French.
It is supported by COVIAM (the Conference of Visitors of Africa and Madagascar). The confreres are involved in parish ministry, John Paul II Minor Seminary, and teaching in school. The Missionaries presently ministering there are: Roch Alexandre Ramilijaona and Sylvain Rémy Disuka at Bébalem, with a third confrere due to arrive at the end of this year; Léon Moninga Andogele and Ambrose Esigbemi Umetietie at the minor seminary. More support is needed.

Tunisia(2011).
Languages: Arab, French, and English.
The confreres are involved in parish ministry, charitable assistance through Caritas, and ministry with the Diocesan Office of Education. Missionaries presently ministering in two missionary sites are: Narcisse Djerambete Yotobumbeti and Eric-Prosper Mputu Ebengo at La Goulette; Claudio Santangelo and Fadi Bassil at Sousse. In Sousse, the parishioners are mostly retired people, expatriates, many tourists, and mixed families (Christians and Muslims).

N.B. During the 2016 General Assembly, the idea of incrementing our presence in Maghreb was discussed. In fact, the importance of our presence and mission there is to build bridges and dialogue with the Muslim community on behalf of the poor in this area. The Church in Tunis is positioned on the peripheries. It is not self-sufficient and there is no seminary to train future priests. The priests have to come from outside the country. The faithful in Tunis are composed of about 30,000 foreigners, university students, and expatriates. The majority of the population is Muslim and, as a result, there is always an environment of suspicion, indifference, and prejudice; all of which we attempt to change through the witness of our life.

Provincial Mission: 

Vice-Province of Mozambique.
Languages: Local language, Portuguese, and English.
The members of the Vice-Province are involved in ministry with men and women in great need, in formation ministry in seminaries, and in a mission in South Africa. The Vice-Province is still dependent on Missionaries from other provinces in order to continue its ministry. They are most willing to accept new members.

AMERICA 

International Missions:

Alaska, USA – (2014).
Languages: English and Spanish.
The confreres ministering there are serving an increasing number of Latinos, who live in the Archdiocese of Anchorage. The Missionaries presently serving there are: Andrew Bellisario, Pedro Nel Delgado Quintero, and Jesús Gabriel Medina Claros. We are in the process of assigning a new confrere to this archdiocese and to a neighboring diocese. More missionaries are needed.

Beni, Bolivia – (2016).
Languages: Local language and Spanish.
Two confreres are preparing to open this mission. More missionaries will be needed to strengthen the community.

Cochabamba, Bolivia – (2009).
Languages: Local language and Spanish.
The confreres are involved in pastoral and parish ministry. The Missionaries presently ministering there are: David Paniagua and Jorge Manrique Castro.

El Alto, Bolivia – (1994).
Languages: Local language and Spanish.
The confreres are involved in pastoral ministry with the indigenous peoples, which implies rural pastoral ministry and the formation of the laity. The Missionaries presently ministering there are: Aidan Rooney, Cyrille de la Barre de Nanteuil, and Diego José Plá Aranda. They request the assistance of more Missionaries.

Punta Arenas, Chile – (2013).
Language: Spanish.
The confreres are involved in pastoral ministry. The Missionaries presently ministering there are: Ángel Ignacio Garrido Santiago, Pablo Alexis Vargas Ruiz, and Margarito Martínez González. They request the support of more Missionaries.

Tefé, Brazil.
Languages: Local language and Portuguese.
The Prelature of Tefé, located in the heart of the Brazilian Amazon, had been entrusted to the Spiritans. Bishop Fernando Barbosa dos Santos, CM, is the fourth Bishop of Tefé and the first one who is not a member of the Congregation of the Holy Spirit. The Prelature extends for some 264,669 square kilometers and has a population of about 238,000 in habitants. There are ten cities, about 405 riverside communities, and 40 urban communities. There are 88 indigenous communities in 15 different villages with a total population of 8500. It is a poor missionary territory that needs more priests and evangelizers. The primary means of transportation is by boat (long hours of travel in precarious and difficult conditions).

So far, a few confreres have expressed their readiness to go to this mission, but to give serious consideration to opening it, we need more candidates.

Provincial Mission:

Province of Cuba.
Language: Spanish.
Even though this province is searching for a way to reconfigure itself with another province, it lacks personnel. Confreres will be welcome to minister there for either short- or long-term commitments.

ASIA – OCEANIA 

International Missions: 

Solomon Islands – (1993).
Languages: English and Pidgin.
The confreres are involved in formation ministry (major seminary) and rural parish ministry. The Missionaries presently ministering there are: Paulus Suparmono, Antony Punnoth, Ricardo Pradhan, and Brian O’Sullivan. Justin Eke and Tewolde Teclemicael continue their ongoing formation. There is always a need for Missionaries to teach philosophy and/or theology. Those confreres having at least a licentiate in philosophy or theology and willing to teach will be of great service to the mission. The medium of instruction is English.

Papua New Guinea – (2003).
Languages: English and Pidgin.
The mission there includes ministry in various dioceses. In addition to formation ministry in the seminary at Port Moresby, the confreres are involved in rural parish ministry and also work at the center of missionary cultural formation. The Missionaries presently ministering there are: Homero Marín, Marceliano Oabel, Emmanuel Lapaz, Jacek Tendej, Neil Lams, Joel Bernardo Yco and Marcin Wróbel.

Provincial Mission: 

Province of China.
The Province of China continues to provide for the pastoral needs of the people of Taiwan and mainland China. The language is Mandarin and the confreres are involved in a variety of ministries.

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

I look forward to hearing from anyone who is interested in volunteering for one of these missions. In the meantime, let us keep in prayer all those who evangelize in foreign lands. May we all be filled with Jesus’s Spirit as we follow in the footsteps of our holy Founder.

Your brother in Saint Vincent,

Tomaž Mavrič, C.M.
Superior General